Home > Uncategorized > 5 A Day Challenge

5 A Day Challenge

So my dear friend Carla over at My 1/2 Dozen Daily is doing a 5 a day challenge starting Monday. I’m totally up for playing along with this.  Being Vegetarian, Gluten & Dairy free this should be easy peasy right LOL.  I mostly eat veggies with some fruits thrown in and I’m 99% sure I get my 5 a day already.  I’m going to challenge myself for 10 a day.  Check out Carla’s blog to see her  yummy  interesting looking fruit/veggie smoothie.  I can’t stand to try putting spinach in my smoothies LOL.

Here are some typical serving sizes for fruits and vegetables:

Fruits
one banana
six strawberries
two plums
fifteen grapes
one apple
one peach
one-half cup of orange or other fruit juice

Vegetables
five broccoli florets
ten baby carrots
one roma tomato
3/4 cup tomato juice
half of a baked sweet potato
one ear of corn
four slices of an onion
1 cup lettuce

*1/2 cup chopped fruit/veggies – 1 serving

I’ll be trying to post daily or at least every other day with what I had and if it met my 10 a day goal … and I’ll add some iPhone photos of my fruits and veggies for good measure … errr evidence! LOL.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , , , ,
  1. August 28, 2011 at 9:11 pm

    I definitely want to see the evidence… Make sure you’re not living off of soy ice cream & vodka! 😛

  2. michelledobbyn
    August 29, 2011 at 7:51 pm

    Wine Carla … wine … sheesh *whistle* lol

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

